Seven Wonders of the World

Seven wonders of the world namely The Great Wall of China, Machu Picchu, Petra, Christ the Redeemer, Colosseum, Taj Mahal and Chichen Itza. In 2000 a campaign new seven wonders of the world was launched by a Swiss Foundation in which more than hundred million votes were cast using different medium from around the world. And on 2007 the seven wonders of the world were named. According to a New York-based polling organisation it was the largest poll on record.

Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China was build in several stretches, which later was joined by Qin Shi Huang the first Emperor of China. The well known section of the wall was built by Ming dynasty. There were various purposes to build this wall like, for the defense, imposition of duties on goods that are transported through Silk route, encouragement for trading activities, etc. It spans over 20,000 km.

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu is located in Southern Peru. It is build in classical Inca style. It is famous for its dry stone walls made without the use of mortar. It is also known as the ‘Lost city of Inca’.It has a tropical mountain climate. It was included in UNESCO World Heritage site in 1983.


Petra is a city in Southern Jordan. The city has been inhabited as early as 7000 BC and this was the Nabataean’s capital city in their Kingdom. In 1985 Patra was announced as the World Heritage site.

Christ the Redeemer

It is a statue of the Christ which is situated in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The statue has a height of about 30 metres and his arm stretch 28 wide. It is located on the peak of Corcovado mountain in Tijuca Forest National Park.


Colosseum is located in the centre of the city of Rome in Italy it is the largest ancient as well as modern amphitheatre. It was used to host gladiatorial shows. It was built by Emperor Vespasian and his successor  Titus and modifications were made by Domition.

Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal is located on the banks of river Yamuna in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India. It was built by Mugal Emperor Shah Jahan for his dearest wife Mumtaz. He built this in her remembrance. It is also known as the symbol of love. It is made from Marble. It was declared as UNESCO World Heritage site in 1983.

Chichen Itza

Chichen Itza is situated in Mexico. It is the largest pre-columbian city built by the Maya people. It is one of the most visited archaeological site in Mexico.